Double Chocolate Oat Flour Pancakes

Hello there, pretty reader, my name is Maryam and I like cooking. No wait, I LOVE cooking. Very nice to meet you, or so to speak.

I will introduce myself in more details later. What you need to know -for now! – is that I’ve been creating and recreating recipes since as long as I can remember. I follow a somewhat personal twist on any recipe I find, gotta have fun with it right? 😉

So anyway, I saw a picture a while ago for this gorgeous mouthwatering double chocolaty layered pancake. Got the craving instantly and I decided to do my twist on it since I’m a self-certified chocoholic. I stole (as Austin Kleon would say) this recipe from Double Chocolate Chip Pancakes by Yummy

Now, you might think that this is too sweet or too heavy or too unorthodox to be consuming something so tempting at once. Trust me, it depends on how much sugar and chocolate you add to it! I like mine not so sweet but rich in chocolate. Specially with fresh brewed coffee.. Mmm mmm ❤

Image

DOUBLE CHOCOLATE OAT FLOUR PANCAKES

  • 1 ½ cups of buttermilk
  • 1 ½ cups of oat flour (put the same amount of rolled white oats -Quaker works perfectly- in the processor and BAM you got oat flour!)
  • 3 eggs
  • 3 tablespoons coconut oil (you can also use vegetable oil, canola oil, melted butter)
  • ¾ teaspoon salt
  • 2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 3 tablespoons brown sugar -white sugar works too (you can add more if you want it sweeter)
  • ¼ cup of cocoa powder (use the baking unsweetened one not the instant cocoa drink powder)
  • 1 cup chocolate chips
  • ½ teaspoon of vanilla extract

Image

1. Combine the dry ingredients first, oat flour, brown sugar, cocoa powder, salt and baking powder. Whisk them till they’re well mixed. In another bowl; mix the eggs and buttermilk until they’re nice and bubbly, add oil and vanilla, then pour the dry mix over the eggs mix. Now you wanna mix them nice and slow and do NOT over mix it or the pancakes won’t come out as soft. I count to 20 on each circle I make with a wooden spoon or a spatula. Don’t worry if they look a little crumbly, that’s the oats being oats.

Image

I used semi-sweet chocolate chips, but I think any kind of chocolate chips would work!

Image

2. After you’re done, add the chocolate chips and slowly fold them in.

Image

3. Plug in the griddle or heat the pan, whichever way you make the pancakes. I use the electric griddle, it’s very old and it heats very fast which burns stuff if I didn’t keep an eye on it. You have to be careful with these because they contain chocolate chips and you wanna watch out not to burn them.

Scoop a full ¼ cup with the mixture and pour in on the pancake griddle, leave them until you see bubbles then turn to the other side.

4. Pour some warm maple syrup, drop some chocolate chips, or even go crazy with a whipped cream can!

Image

ENJOY, I know you will.

Xoxo!

Special thanks to my awesome godsend cousin Sam, she took these photos that did nothing but justice to the chocolaty pancakes! 

4 thoughts on “Double Chocolate Oat Flour Pancakes

Leave a comment